bool(false)

fragments of an empire

ABOUT STORMS AND STREAMS

EXPLOSIVE DREAMY

Long are the pieces by fragments of an empire, because they have a lot to say. Without words. They break with any expectations to ears petted by radio suitable popmusic. And occasional their music blows ears.

In 2005 the four fragments met after the dissolutions of previous music-projects. There were two guitars, drums and a bass guitar. A classic instrumentation, that supplemented by piano and glockenspiel, or sometimes the casual use of samples, began to take its way. To assign their compositions to a certain genre is hardly possible, they don’t seem to be dependent to genres, they play with rockmusic.
In an autonomous way the pieces germinate out of spontaneous ideas by one fragment, they grow while being played together in the band room and develop their final size by being played live. Like an approaching thunderstorm they may sound, or a increasing river caused by that, like a long trainride with passing tunnels and mountains or like a flock of migratory birds on ‘Winterreise’.

The music anyway, but here everything is homemade. The renovation of a former farmstead in the countryside into a rehearsal room and recording studio, the ‘Offbeat Ranch’, in collaboration with two other bands – this is where the current EP was recorded recently. The mixing & mastering with support by Psychedelicious who also helped to produce the two previously released albums ‘fragments of an empire’ (2007) & ‘I’ve left the house with light clothes only, now I’ll never get warm again‘ (2009). The atmospheric artwork of the records released in limited pressings, as well as the organisation of their concerts or a festival.

Their music is elegiac, as well as explosive dreamy, well-considered and self-explanatory. Naturally it takes the time and the space that is required.

The important questions of life are asked, disquisitioned and answered.

Text: Fabian

These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • MySpace
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • del.icio.us

bool(false)

fragments of an empire

VON GEWITTERN UND FLÜSSEN

EXPLOSIV VERTRÄUMT

Lang sind die Stücke der fragments of an empire, denn sie haben viel zu sagen. Ohne Worte. Sie sprengen damit jeglichen Rahmen der von radiotauglicher Popmusik verwöhnten Ohren. Und mitunter sprengt ihre Musik Ohren. 

2005 fanden sich die vier Fragmente nach der Auflösung vorangeganener Musikprojekte. Zwei Gitarren brachten sie mit, Schlagzeug und Bass. Eine klassische Besetzung, die ergänzt durch Piano und Glockenspiel, oder auch den gelegentlichen Einsatz von Samples, begann ihren Weg zu gehen. Einem Genre zuordnen lassen sich die entstehenden Kompositionen kaum, sie scheinen darauf auch nicht angewiesen zu sein, sie spielen mit der Rockmusik.
In selbstständiger Weise keimen die Stücke aus spontanen Ideen eines Fragments, sie wachsen beim gemeinsamen Spiel im Proberaum und entfalten sich schließlich bei Liveauftritten zu ihrer vollen Größe. Nach einem herannahenden Gewitter können sie klingen, oder wie ein dadurch anschwellender Fluss, wie eine lange Bahnfahrt durch Tunnel und Berge oder ein Vogelschwarm auf Winterreise.

Die Musik sowieso, doch hier wird alles selbst gemacht. Der Ausbau eines ehemaligen Bauernhofes auf dem Land zum Proberaum und Studio, der ‘Offbeat Ranch’, mit zwei befreundeten Bands, in welchem jüngst die aktuelle EP aufgenommen wurde. Das Mixen & Mastern mit Unterstützung durch Psychedelicious, der sich auch bei den beiden bisher erschienen Alben ‘fragments of an empire’ (2007) & ‘I’ve left the house with light clothes only, now I’ll never get warm again’ (2009) dafür verantwortlich zeigte. Die stimmungsvollen Artworks der in Kleinstauflagen erscheinenden Tonträger, als auch die Organisation ihrer Konzerte oder eines Festivals.

Ihre Musik kommt elegisch daher, auch explosiv verträumt, wohlüberlegt und selbsterklärend. Zeit nimmt sie sich und den Raum den sie benötigt, nach dem sie förmlich schreit.

Große Fragen des Lebens werden gestellt, abgehandelt und beantwortet.

Text: Fabian

Diese Icons verlinken auf Bookmark Dienste bei denen Nutzer neue Inhalte finden und mit anderen teilen können.
  • MySpace
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • del.icio.us